– The Quirinale Stables
Born at the beginning of the eighteenth century by Carlo Fontana, passing through Pope Innocent XIII who commissioned Alessandro Specchi for a first restoration, and then completed it in 1730 with Ferdinando Fuga commissioned by Pope Clement XII, the Scuderie al Quirinale building has retained its original function as a shed for carriages and horse posts until 1938. The beginning of the complete restoration of the building dates back to February 20, 1997 and after two and a half years of work, on December 21, 1999, in the presence of the President of the Republic Carlo Azeglio Ciampi, the new exhibition venue is inaugurated.
– The Palazzo delle Scuderie del Quirinale
The Scuderie building rests on the remains, still partially visible, of the grandiose Roman temple of Serapis. The total area of the Papal Stables is about 3000 m², of which about 1500 m² constitute the exhibition area. On the mezzanine floor there is a cafeteria while the ground floor houses the reception services, the library, the gift shop and spaces reserved for other initiatives. The stained glass window, designed by Gae Aulenti for the renovation and restoration of the Quirinale Stables, is certainly one of the attractions: 180 ° for a panorama from the “highest” of the seven hills of Rome. From the Altare della Patria to the domes of the churches, including San Pietro, from the roofs of the houses of the districts of the historic center to the green hues of the Janiculum, Monte Mario and Pincio, curiosities to discover or recognize by observing Rome from this point of view privileged are many.
– Raffaello Sanzio
He was born in Urbino on 28/3/1483 or 6/4/1483 (date not certain) and died in Rome on 6/4/1520. His remains were buried in the Pantheon, a monument he deeply loved. Being born and having spent his youth in Urbino, an artistic center of primary importance, which radiated the ideals of the Renaissance in Italy and in Europe, was certainly in the formation of Raphael. Raphael probably learned the first lessons of drawing and painting from his father, Giovanni de ‘Santi (no less excellent painter), who at least from the eighties of the fifteenth century was in charge of a thriving workshop. Moreover, having access with his father to the rooms of the Palazzo Ducale, he had the opportunity to study the works of Piero della Francesca, Francesco di Giorgio Martini, Pedro Berruguete and others. Towards the end of 1508 the call to Rome came from Pope Julius II who had put in place an extraordinary urban and artistic renewal of the city and the Vatican in particular, calling the best artists on the square, including Michelangelo and Donato Bramante . So it was that Raffaello, just twenty-five years old, moved to Rome, leaving some works unfinished in Florence.
– Raphael’s Exhibition at the Quirinale Stables
VISITING HOURS: until August 30, from Sunday to Thursday from 8.00 to 23.00 (last entry 21.30); Friday and Saturday from 8.00 am to 1 am (last admission 11.30 pm).
ENTRANCE METHOD: Reservations required for all time slots, with a maximum of 8 visitors per entrance, scheduled every 5 minutes.
- At the entrance of the stables, body temperature will be detected. Access will not be allowed in case of body temperature above 37.5 ° C
- Visitors must wear a mask for the entire time of their stay inside the Stables.
- Inside the Stables it will always be necessary to keep the interpersonal distance of 2 meters even between people belonging to the same family.
The indications on the ground will help everyone to visualize the right distance: the visitor will find a special graphic on the floor that will indicate the one-way visit route, marked by the punctual identification of individual stopping and observation points.